Dr. Adebola Aderemi Onanuga, Head of Department


The Department of Pharmaceutical Microbiology and Biotechnology was carried out from the Department of Pharmaceutics in the 2016/2017 session following a directive by the Nigerian Universities Commission (NUC). This split give birth to the Department and the incumbent Dean, Professor Barnabas Kabele – Toge appointed Dr. J.C Igwe as the pioneer Head of Department in October 2016. The department started off with 3 permanent academic staff. Dr A.A Onanuga was appointed as head of Department in December 2017 after arriving on a 1 year sabbatical from the Niger-Delta University Wilberforce Island, a post he held till the end of 2018/2019 session. Pharm. O.J Adamu is presently the coordinator of the department and the department can boast of 6 permanent/tenured academic staff and 4 non-academic staff. The department also has 4 Professor on visiting capacity.


To train students to develop a competence in how to combat microbial infectious diseases and gain knowledge in antimicrobial resistance mechanisms and the use of microbial culture for socio economic gains.