Prof. Hajja Gana Hamza, Dean Faculty of Science


With great pleasure, I welcome you to the faculty of Science, Gombe State University. The staff are truly committed to teaching, research, innovation and community development. Faculty of Science is one of the three Faculties established since the inception of the University in 2005. The pioneer Dean was Dr. Garba Uba Goje then a staff on sabbatical leave from Ahmadu Bello University Zaria. Dr. Garba Uba Goje 2005 – 2006, Prof. L. Singh 2006 – 2007, Prof. K. N. Mistra 2007 -2009, Prof. Ibrahim Musa Umar 2009 – 2014 and Dr. Elisha Karu 2014 –2020 Also, Professors, L.N. Singh and M. K, Mistra served as the Dean. Professor Ibrahim Musa Umar took over as Dean from 2009 and then was appointed Deputy Vice Chancellor in 2014. Dr. Elisha Karu took over from him and has been the Dean for six years with dedicated service and exemplary leadership. In January 2021, the Vice Chancellor Professor Aliyu EL-Nafaty appointed Professor Hajjagana Hamza to assume the office. The Faculty have eight (8) Departments namely, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Physics. The Department of Science Laboratory Technology was created towards the end of the year, 2019. On assuming office in the last quarter of 2019, the 3rd Vice Chancellor of the University, Professor Aliyu Usman El- Nafaty created additional Departments in the Faculty. The Department of Biological Sciences that was becoming too large to manage was split into three Departments namely Biology, Botany and Zoology. Additionally, the Department of Mathematics was split into two Departments, Mathematics and Computer Science and thus giving a total twelve (12) Departments in the Faculty as at the beginning of the 2019/2020 Academic Year. All the Departments except Biochemistry, Microbiology and Computer Science are accommodated in a three-storey Building known as the Faculty of Science Complex that was commissioned on 24th July 2019 by Professor Elias Suleiman Bagoro, the Executive Secretary of Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETfund). It is so far the biggest physical structure in the University if not in the entire Gombe Metropolis.

List of Departments under the Faculty of Science


Accreditation of the undergraduate programs is a continuous process undertaken by the regulatory body the National University Commission (NUC). A Full Accreditation status is granted for 5 years only after which the program is subjected to another accreditation process while an Interim Accreditation status is for two years in the first instance and if the program fails to earn Full Accreditation status after the interim period of two years, the program is then denied the approval to continue with that program. Due to the commitment demonstrated by the pioneer and subsequent Management of the University and deployment of resources, there has been no program that was denied accreditation.
S/N Department Undergraduate Programmes Accreditation Status
1 Biochemistry B.Sc. Biochemistry Full (2015)
2 Biological Sciences B.Sc. Biology, B.Sc. Botany and B.Sc. Zoology Interim, Full (2018), Full (2018)
3 Chemistry B.Sc. Chemistry B.Sc. Chemistry
4 Geography B.Sc. Geography Full (2018)
5 Geology B.Sc. Geology Interim (2018)
6 Mathematics B.Sc. Computer Science, B.Sc. Mathematics, B.Sc. Statistics and Diploma in Computer Science Full (2018), Full (2018), Full (2018)
7 Microbiology B.Sc. Microbiology Full (2015)
8 Physics B.Sc. Physics Full (2016)
9 Science Laboratory Technology (SLT) B.Sc. Science Laboratory Technology Not Due