Dr. Halima M. Abba, Head of Department


The Botany Department was carved out from Biological Sciences in January 2020. After inception of the University in 2004, Botany was one of the three programmes under the Department of Biological Sciences. From a modest beginning with 22 students and four members of staff, within three years, the Department has grown tremendously both in number of Students and Staff. At inception, the Biological Sciences Department was under the coordination of Dr. E Karu up to October 2006 when the pioneer Head of Department in the person of Dr. (Mrs) V. M. Y Dan was appointed. Within her tenure the Department was able to acquire a well-equipped laboratory and an established Botanical garden to enhance research within the Department. Dr. Fatima Tahir became the Head of Department from 2007 – October 2010. Dr A. G. Ezra was appointed Head of Department by the Vice Chancellor from November 2010 to January, 2016. Dr. D. M. Umar also was appointed Head of Department with effect from 1st February 2016. And December, 2019 the senate approved the splitting of Biological Sciences into three Departments; Biology, Botany and Zoology. Thereafter, in January, 2020; Dr. Halima M. Abba was appointed the pioneer Head of Department of Botany. The Department over the period of its existence has created links with sister Departments in other universities both within and outside the country, and also with research bodies such as the Nigerian Montane Forest Project at Ngel-Nyaki forests Mambila plateau in Taraba State, which is one of the field stations of the University. The Department has also been working with other Departments within the University to enhance collaborative research. Currently, the Department ranks best within the Faculty of Science and even the whole University. It is indeed our desire that within the nearest possible future, the Department of Botany is going to grow in leaps and bounds under the headship of Dr. Halima M. Abba.


The Department of Botany welcomes you to its folds and congratulates you on your admission to this great and prestigious University Primus Interpares (first among equals), located in the “Jewel in the savannah.” The department is one of the thirteen departments that make up the Faculty of Science. Many of our pioneer students have distinguished themselves creditably in their internal semester exams as well as at their SIWES locations based across the State /Country. You should, therefore, count yourself fortunate and lucky to have been admitted in to this Department. Once again, the Departmental Staff and returning Students welcome and congratulate you, with the hope that you will make very good use of the resources (both human and material) and services available in the Department, to develop yourself morally and intellectually, so as to become a positively contributing member of the society


For admission into any of the three degree programmes in the Department of Botany, a student must satisfy the minimum University and Faculty of Science requirements of an O-level credit in Biology and credits in four other subjects (Chemistry, Physics/Geography/Agriculture, English and Mathematics) at the GCE ‘O’ level or SSCE. Students that have successfully completed remedial programmes approved by the University Senate and meets the GCE ‘O”– level/SSCE requirements are also eligible for admission. For direct entry admissions into 200 level of study, a prospective candidate must satisfy the requirements stated above and in addition possess two or more A-level papers (or its equivalent), which must include Biology and Chemistry.


A student in this Department is said to be ‘acceptable or good academic standing’ if his/her CGPA is 1.50 or higher. However, to be allowed to proceed to the next level of study, a student must earn a minimum of 24 credit units per session (2 semesters). For example, a student who has spent three or more academic sessions in the Department, but earned only 70 credit units cannot be allowed to proceed to 400-level; such a student is still, in effect, a 300 level student. This is however distrint from the minimum of 30 credit units per session which students must maintain in order to graduate within the minimum prescribed period for course programmes in the Department. The following tables therefore apply to students who enter the University at the 100 and 200 levels respectively


To educate sound plant Botanist’s especially in the agro-allied areas of plant ecology, Plant Physiology, Breeding, Anatomy,Ethno-botany and Pathology, aspects of Horticulture and Conservation of Plant Germplasm.