Dr. Bashir Malam

(Head of Department)


The Department of Political Science was established in 2005 for an Academic programme leading to a B.Sc. degree in Political Science. The department admitted its first set of students in January 2006, with initial number of five staff and thirty three students. Currently the Department comprises of Three Professors, Three Readers, two Senior Lecturers, eleven 11 Lecturer I, two Lecturer II, one Assistant Lecturer and one Graduate Assistant, making a total of twenty three academic staff (Attached in Appendix B is the staff list of the department. The Department admitted its first set with the number of 36 students in January 2006 and graduated in 2009 and also now expected to graduate its thirteenth set of graduates in the year 2023. its equally offering the following Postgraduate programs: PhD. In Political Science; PhD. In International Relations; and PhD. In Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution; M. Sc. Political Science; M.Sc. International Relations; and M.Sc. Peace Studies and Conflict Resolutions. Approval have also been made for embarking on two additional programs in the Department, these are: B.Sc. Degree in International Relations and B.Sc. Degree in Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution which is expected to commence in 2023/2024 academic session. In recognizing its responsibility for excellence in teaching and students’ learning, the Department offers courses that introduce students to the scope of political science and the various techniques employed by political scientist to investigate and analyze political data. The courses are also aimed at helping students understand the processes and outcomes of political conflict both from an abstract theoretical perspective as well as from a wide variety of real world settings. Within the department, we see ourselves as educating not just our students to enable them pursue lifelong careers, but we also recognize from experience that we are educating the next generation of leaders. Therefore, it is the Department’s strong desire to prepare the students to be life-long learners and to be citizens in a dynamic world. The Head of Department is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Department. He manages these responsibilities through departmental committees and the Departmental Board. Departmental committees are constituted by the Board and are charged with the responsibility of attending to the maintenance of standards, the detailed implementation of Board policies and other matters that may arise from time to time. Such committees include Departmental Research Committee, Departmental Seminars and Publications Committee and Students’ Advisory and Grievances committee. Meetings at committee and Board levels are convened regularly, as happens also when specific problems arise. Committees make periodic reports to the Head of Department or to the Board.
The department offer professional and personal development programmes in Political Science that have helped to shape the lives and careers of many of Nigerian’s leading executives. Currently the Department offers the following programmes:
  •  PhD. In Political Science
  •  PhD. In International Relations
  •  PhD. In Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  •  M. Sc. Political Science
  •  M.Sc. International Relations
  •  M.Sc. Peace Studies and Conflict Resolutions
  •  B.Sc. Political Science
  •  B.Sc. International Relations
  •  B.Sc. Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution


  • Train its graduates with the knowledge to function adequately in the contemporary knowledge-based world.
  • Produce qualified hands to handle knowledge dissemination in our complex world and the world at large.
  • Build an established institution where political scientists capable of handling crisis resolution and the task of unifying the country are trained.
  • Provide theoretical and practical training towards self-employment and independence for political science graduates.
  • The production of graduates that can easily function in the society and in the immediate environment.
  • Satisfying societal quest for relevant knowledge.


  • Attain great heights in the field of political science relevant to the local community and the nation at large.
  • Equip its graduates with the ability to cope with the challenges of a globalized world.


In addition to the University and Faculty requirements as shall be prescribed from time to time, all candidates for admission into the Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree in Political Science, International Relations and Peace studies and Conflict Resolutions must obtain at least five (5) credits to include in English Language, Mathematics, Government or History and two other social science or arts subjects in the Senior Secondary School Certificate Examination (WAEC/NECO). • Candidates for UTME admission must obtain a score as prescribed by JAMB or the University in the University Matriculation Examinations (UME). The three core UME subjects must be relevant to Political Science. (English, Government or History). • Candidates for Direct Entry must have an Interim Joint Matriculation Board (IJMB) Examination certificate in 3 subjects with at least a credit in each. ACADEMIC PROGRAMME The course units in the Department are organized on the course credit system per semester. A semester lasts for approximately 18 weeks, including the periods of registration and examinations provided that no less than 15 weeks are devoted to actual teaching. One credit unit is equivalent to 15 contact hours of classroom teaching. Most of the courses units in the department carry the weight of 3 credit units, suggesting that they are taught for 45 hours in the semester 3 one-hour periods per week. At the end of each semester, a final examination is given to bring the course to a final conclusion. The final examination in each course unit is weighted 60% of the total assessment while the Continuous Assessment (CA) component, usually 2 per course unit carries the weight of 40% of total marks for the course.


To graduate at 400 level, a minimum of 144 credits are required to be passed, including the General Studies and electives. In the case of 3 year Direct Entry Programme, the minimum credit requirement for graduation is 108. In a semester a minimum of 18 and maximum of 24 credit unit courses may be registered for by students.

%Scores Grade Grade Points
70-100 A 5
60-69 B 4
50-59 C 3
45-49 D 2
0-44 F 0

A Bachelor’s degree programme shall normally be completed in 8 semesters for a 4 year programme, (two semesters less for those who join at 200level). The date of degree shall correspond with the end of the semester in which the student completed his/her course requirements. A transfer student with advanced standing shall be required to spend not less than two Academic Sessions in the University to be eligible for a degree of the University. The appropriate Department, Faculty and the Senate shall consider all transfer cases. A student is required to obtain a minimum grade of D of each examination he/she writes. A student should repeat a course in which he failed to obtain a minimum pass grade so as to be used in computation of CGPA. A student who attains a Cumulative Grade Point Average of less than 1.50 shall first register his backlog of required courses before he can, within the limits of 48 credit units, be allowed to register for other courses. To qualify for an honours degree, a student shall complete his/her studies in not more than one and a half times the normal duration of his programme.


Students from 100 Level


Students from 200 Level


Students from 300 Level


Students from 400 Level