Dr. Lazarus A. Mbaya (Ph.D), Head of Department

About Geography Department

The Department of Geography is among the pioneers Departments in Gombe State University established in the faculty of science in the 2005/2006 academic session. It was given the mandate to run 4-year B.Sc. programme. The Department was initially coordinated by Dr. Elisha Karu, Head of Chemistry Department and later by Dr, J. K. Nyanganji as the substantive Head of Department in May, 2007. Dr. U. M. Maryah took over from Dr. J. K. Nyanganji in May, 2008 to April 2009; after which Prof. A. C. .Ezieshi was appointed the Head of Department from May, 2009 to April 2010 when he completed his sabbatical leave. Dr. M. Gumnior took over as the Head of Department from May, 2010 to April, 2012. Dr. Yakubu Dan took over as the Ag. Head of Department from May, 2012 to February, 2017 when Dr. L. A. Mbaya was appointed as the Head of Department up to date. The Department initially enrolled thirteen (13) students during the 2005/2006 academic session and the number of students has steadily increased. The number of staff has also increased both in quantity and quality because at inception the Department had only five (5) members of academic staff but now there are 32 academic staff with about 528 students, given a staff ratio of 1:16 Department has a functional GIS/RS (Geographic Information System and Remote Sensing) Laboratory, Cartographic Laboratory,Earth Science Laboratory and a Meteorological Station.

Admission Requirements

The Department ensure strict adherence to the registration of students who have met the admission requirements as stipulated by the Senate of the University. This entails that students wishing to study, Geography must:- a. Have the WASC/WASSCE or NECOGCE or NAPTEC ‘O’ level with five (5) credits or its equivalent at not more than two sittings. The credit must include Geography, English Language, Mathematics, plus any two of the following subjects Chemistry, Physics, Biology or Agricultural Science, Economics, Government, History. Have GCE ‘A’ level, IJMB, NCE, or its equivalent to be admitted through direct entry (DE) JAMB. One of the passed courses in ‘A’ level GCE must be Geography plus (a) above.

Graduation Requirements

Students must register for a minimum of 144 credit units and earn them within the residency period specified by the university before they can qualify for award of B.Sc. Degree. For Direct Entry they must earn a minimum of 108. credit units before graduation.